Books · Language

‘Abibliophobia’ and other delights…

Customer: Hi

Bookseller:  Hi there, how can I help?

Customer: Could you please explain Kindle to me.

Bookseller: Sure. It’s an e-reader, which means you download books and read them on a small hand held computer

Customer: Oh OK, I see. So…this Kindle. Are the books on that paperback or hardback?

From Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops by Jen Campbell

I love words. Every so often, I will flick through my ‘Foyle’s Collected Philavery’ which contains a collection of weird and wonderful words, less commonly used. I love the fact that for almost every eventuality, there is a word that perfectly describes that situation.

Here are a few. Perhaps you will learn a new word or two…

Bathykolpian

(adjective)

Having a large bosom with a deep cleavage

melon
Photo Credit:  http://azharibayuwi.blogspot.com

Exsanguinate

(verb)

To drain or deprive of blood

Fangs
Photo Credit: YouTube.com

Dewlap

(noun)

1. The pendulous skin under the throat of cattle, dogs etc

2. the fleshy wattle of the turkey

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/topics/christmas/christmas-food-and-drink/9722094/Word-of-mouth-High-welfare-turkeys-for-a-low-price.html
Photo Credit: Tony Buckingham (http://www.telegraph.co.uk)

Pogonophilia

(noun)

a love of beards

Beard-Beard
Photo credit: thetrendguys.com

 

Wang

(noun) (obsolete)

1. The cheek

2. a molar tooth

10277molar_tooth

What are your favourite words?

Which words make you giggle? Or make you feel nauseous?

J

11 thoughts on “‘Abibliophobia’ and other delights…

      1. I love my little Kindle Fire…even use it for posting sometimes (bad!) and play games, look stuff up…. When they first came out I was on my high horse about “real” books…a purist. I’m not crazy about reading novels on it. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks for your comment Gradmama! I love my Kindle too. I’ll never stop loving paper books but sometimes I love the number of books I can carry around with me on my Kindle. Win-win situation isn’t it? 🙂

        Like

      3. yes, I have overcome my irrational prejudice against the kindle…since I got one for a gift last year. I can do the internet with mine, but I want one that has added writing aides on it. I find it limiting.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

