Humanity · Tea · Travel

Are you calm? | Ways to restore inner peace

Calm quote
I took this photograph in Lausanne, Switzerland on my travels. I felt incredibly calm and reflective looking out over this lake

I’ve been an absolute bag of nerves for the last couple of weeks for no other reason than because I am organising an event at work. A corporate event. Me. Spending someone else’s money. Ensuring that people with infinitely more life experience that I have, are fed and watered and looked after in the standard to which they are accustomed (or would protest to be accustomed!). Needless to say, in my quest to plan the ‘perfect’ event, ensuring that everyone’s demands are met and all are happy, I’ve ended up a slightly frazzled version of myself.

 

It’s not the first time that I’ve organised anything but I suppose that because I am keen to make a good impression on my bosses, I put the extra effort in. Is it worth my shaking, sweaty anxious exterior?

You can’t make everyone happy!

I hear you shouting at me. The truth is, deep down, I know this but I can’t control my body’s reactions and my mind working overtime. Here are some of the things that I do (in no particular order) when I feel myself spiralling out of control.

Camomile Tea (or my favourite hot drink of the moment)

It’s no secret that I love drinking tea and I’m sure you now know, if you have read a few of my posts. Camomile tea is well-know for its calming, soothing effects and this is why I love having a cup during the day at the office. Apart from getting me away from my desk for a few minutes, the act of brewing the tea itself is a relaxing, therapeutic mini -break.

WP_20151120_22_16_10_Pro
My favourite Camomile at the moment!

I also enjoy Dr Stuart’s Valerian Tea (which I am drinking as I type) though it is not a tea to be drunk in polite company as it smells pungent and earthy. One online source compared the smell to ‘dirty socks’…I wouldn’t go that far. It’s soothing and well worth a try.

 

WP_20151120_22_15_58_Pro
Smelly, yet effective

 

Another ‘calm’ tea which I have in my tea cupboard is Zen Again by Clipper. This tea is refreshing, delicious and I can’t make any claims as to the calming properties but it certainly is a pleasant experience.

WP_20151120_22_20_32_Pro
Calming and pretty to look at…

 

Read a book

When  I’m feeling anxious, I’ll  more than likely reach for a book that I have read before, that I take comfort in knowing the characters or the writer’s style. One that holds a special meaning. One that reminds me of a time when I felt happy or just a feel good romance that is not too taxing to read but that I can fully get lost in.

Watch my favourite comedy show/YouTube channel

At the moment, thanks to Amazon Prime, I am making full use of the fact that I can watch Seasons 1 through 5 of the The Office (US) for free and enjoy all of the Dunder Mifflin antics! If there is a programme that you like to watch on TV, on YouTube or in whatever format that you enjoy, then it might be nice to take some time to yourself to have a laugh.

Bake

I love baking. I made chocolate Mug Cakes with melting chocolate centres tonight. Just because the process of mixing up the batter, licking the spoon and waiting the 1 minute 20 seconds that it takes to cook in the microwave is my kind of therapy when I feel a little delicate. The link above is to the actual book that I got my recipe from!

Write. Things. Down.

I find that sometimes when I’m anxious about something, I start thinking of all the other things that I am anxious about and soon it becomes like a very long list of chores. I have several notebooks that I like to jot down ideas, goals, story ideas and lists in, before I go to sleep. That way, I feel as though I have emptied my mind onto the page and I don’t need to play those worries or ‘To Dos’ over and over in my mind.

Talk to friends/ family.

Talking is great. A problem shared is a problem halved, as clichéd as that may sound. Although I wouldn’t necessarily discuss how I was feeling with each and everyone I met. I probably talk to my other half  a whole lot about how I feel though I appreciate how great a listener and support he is!

Yesterday, I was browsing Mind, the mental health charity’s website and came across a number of useful articles and tips for managing stress, and other forms of mental health concerns that may arise.

I was also handed the below at a London train station a day or two ago and on examining it closer, I noted that it was a campaign raising awareness of the issue of male suicide in the UK and what is being done to encourage men to talk about the issues they are facing and to quash the stigmas associated with talking about feelings.

WP_20151120_22_58_02_Pro
Travel-card holder. Raising awareness

 

THE CAMPAIGN AGAINST LIVING MISERABLY, or CALM, is a registered charity, which exists to prevent male suicide in the UK.   In 2014, male suicide accounts for 76% of all suicides and is the single biggest cause of death in men under 45 in the UK. ~ The Calm Zone

I’m so pleased to hear about the great things being done to help people from all works of life, deal with the pressures of everyday life and to come up with working solutions to beat mental health issues.

Crochet or other crafts

Keeping my hands busy and ending up with something cute that I made is a great way for me to forget about my worries. I find that crochet (or knitting which I  have not yet mastered) is a great way to relax as you have to focus enough on what you are doing that it becomes quite difficult to find the time to worry.

Find the things that take your mind off your worries. Put them in a box. Write them down. Talk to friends or professionals. Don’t allow yourself to become overwhelmed and most of all, don’t feel like you are alone!

What are your coping mechanisms?

3 thoughts on “Are you calm? | Ways to restore inner peace

Leave a Reply

