Food

Sausage, mash and onion gravy

Today has been a strange day in that for the first half of it, I was in bed feeling under the weather. After a good rest and a few ibuprofen, I am feeling 60% of my old self. Well enough to make a start on dinner, which as the title suggests, is sausages, mashed potatoes and gravy.

The sausage on the menu tonight is of the pork and leek variety. Fat juicy, stubby sausages, angrily spitting and sizzling away in my frying pan as I type. The smell of leek and caramelised onion filling the flat I share with my boyfriend. His woops of joy and triumph at his video game, Destiny, in the background.

On the first frosty, chilly day of ‘winter’ in the UK, I love my home comforts. My  fleecy dressing gown. Christmas socks. Tea and biscuits. Reading a good book. My favourite comfort foods.

Sausage and mash
Photo Credit: Pinterest via expressoshow.com

 

 

What are your comfort foods of choice?

2 thoughts on “Sausage, mash and onion gravy

Leave a Reply

