Books · Fiction · Reviews

Fiction Round-Up #2 | The Parodies

Hello again. I took a look at my shelves this sunny, yet crisp Sunday morning in London and decided that it would be a good morning for a parody round-up.

What’s a parody?

par·o·dy
[ˈperədē]

  NOUN

1. an imitation of the style of a particular writer, artist, or genre with deliberate exaggeration for comic effect:

“the movie is a parody of the horror genre” · 

VERB

2. produce a humorously exaggerated imitation of (a writer, artist, or genre):

“his specialty was parodying schoolgirl fiction”

Powered by Oxford Dictionaries · © Oxford University Press

So there.

The ‘Barry Trotter’ series by Michael Gerber

If you are as big a fan of the Harry Potter series as I am, then you might like to try these parodies of Barry, a 22 year old wizard, who is the most famous wizard in the world at the most famous school in the wizarding world. Because of his fame, and good repute that it attracts to the school, he is allowed to stay at The Hogwash School for Wizards for as long as he likes. Unfortunately, Barry refuses to get a job and uses his powers to impress Muddle girls…not to the amusement of his wife Ermine Cringer.

WP_20151122_11_18_19_Pro
Barry Trotter parodies. Loving the cover illustrations!
I couldn’t help but laugh at any thoroughly enjoy these books. They aren’t meant to be taken seriously and a true fan will appreciate the valiant attempts to rejig and to inject some silliness into the wizarding world.
Leafy rating: 3/5 Green Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip art

I’ve added a link to the Amazon page here so you can see what others are saying about this title.

‘A Clockwork Apple’ by Belinda Webb

I probably watched the film, read the parody and then read the original text so I am probably not the best person to comment on this (though I will anyway!)

The Amazon blurb describes it as follows:

“At last – an antithesis to chick-lit. Set in a dystopic Manchester A Clockwork Apple introduces Alex, an angry young heroine for our times who rages against the middling ‘Blytons’ and all they stand for. Her gang is all female, the state’s control is exercised through addiction therapy, and Alex’s solace is in high literature and postmodern deconstructionism!” ~ Amazon

I like the fact that unlike the original, the main protagonist is female, as are her gang of trouble-makers. The use of English street slang, verging on East End cockney ‘accents’ adds to the menace of the situations she and her gang get into.

WP_20151122_11_19_13_Pro
A clever adaptation!

I found it quite difficult to get into initially because of the language, though after the first couple of pages, I found myself getting more drawn in and disturbed by the goings-on in the Manchester of the time.

I don’t think it will be a winner for everyone but worth a read, if you’re a fan of the original.

Leafy rating: 2/5 Green Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip art
You can check out the Amazon link here and I have just noticed that if you are a Kindle Unlimited subscriber/member, you can download it for free!

‘Pride and Prejudice and Zombies’ by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith

I like a classic as much as the next person but I will never forget when I was unpacking a heavy crate of books from the stock room onto the (book) shop floor when this book fell into my hands. I was amused enough to flick through it and I bought it shortly after! (half an hour later, while on my lunch break)

WP_20151122_11_19_35_Pro
Front cover of the ‘Deluxe Heirloom’ Edition

It is beautifully disturbingly illustrated by Roberto Parada and only adds to the absurdity but enjoyment of the story. Jane Austen’s classic tale of lovers across social classes has been infiltrated by a horde of flesh and brain eating zombies.

I have discussed my love of this book with many a classic lover and watched them recoil in horror as they try to understand how the two worlds could possibly be incorporated (and how this classic has most probably been butchered by Quirk Classics). I would urge anyone who feels a similar distaste for this sort of thing to give it a try. Go on. You might just enjoy it.

WP_20151122_11_20_46_Pro
Elizabeth Bennett donning her sparring gown, wielding her Katana and taking on a few of Lady Catherine’s finest ninjas for the amusement of a party.

I am reliably informed that this is soon to be made into a movie, due to be released in 2016, though I am currently sceptical as I enjoyed this book too much!

WP_20151122_11_21_04_Pro
Beautifully illustrated scenes from the book.
Leafy rating: 5/5 Green Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip art
On a slight aside, I would recommend having a look at Quirk Classics if this is the kind of thing that you like or would be interested in exploring.
Life is too short to take everything too seriously.
What is your favourite parody? Do you think parodies are a compliment or  are disrespectful to the original author?
2 thoughts on “Fiction Round-Up #2 | The Parodies

Leave a Reply

