Food

Sunday ‘Baking’| Mini Beef Puff Pastries

Hello again!

Yesterday I decided to make some mini beef pastries. I happened to have some Jus-Rol puff pastry in the fridge and felt inspired to bake something.

(hence why I put baking in inverted commas in the title…shh! I cheated a little).

I fried up some minced beef with an onion, green garden peas, jerk seasoning, turmeric, salt and pepper, making the mixture as dry as possible to avoid the dough going soggy when I stuffed it later.

I rolled out the block of dough as thinly as I could but with enough depth to prevent it from falling apart when I stuffed it.

I cut out circles with a cookie cutter (hah!) and rolled and re-rolled the dough until I had used up all of it.

I then added a teaspoon of the mixture to the centre of my circles of dough, folded the edges over, sealed with my fingers and used a fork to get a serrated/fan edge effect.

The pastries were brushed with milk and sprinkled with a little cayenne pepper before I baked them in a 200°C oven for about 20 mins until they were puffed-up golden bites of goodness!

Let’s just say they were yummy, imperfect-looking but delicious little pastries that the boyfriend pretty much devoured in the first 10 minutes of them leaving the oven.

It’s great having such a willing taster!

Did any of you do any baking this weekend?

J

2 thoughts on “Sunday ‘Baking’| Mini Beef Puff Pastries

Leave a Reply

