Books · Kindle First · Reviews

‘Sleeping Embers of an Ordinary Mind’ | Kindle First | Review

Guten tag dear readers!

I wanted to check in with you to provide a brief update on my November Kindle First read, ‘Sleeping Embers of an Ordinary Mind’ by Anne Charnock.

As I mentioned in my selection post, the synopsis of this book reminded me of the format of Cloud Atlas. Several stories taking place over different time zones to several different people, with some sort of connection between them. Multi-layering. Inception executed this multi-layering technique really well in a visual sense. In a book, though, this is quite a challenge for an author as there is a risk of disconnect between the stories before the reader gets the opportunity to work out the links.

Sleeping Embers did just that. Three different stories about art, father-daughter relationships, science and philosophy taking place in the past, present and future.

I don’t want to give too much away about the book but I thoroughly enjoyed the layers of the past and the present; the renowned artists’ daughter learning the trade and the copyist on a Chinese commission, escaping a troubled past. However, as soon as I began to get really drawn into the multiple layers of the stories, it ended as abruptly as it began. (I actually scrolled backwards and forwards a few time because I thought that I missed a few pages!)

A really ambitious novel with some great art history and other artistic references (techniques and styles of painting) that take a while to get going, though before you realise it, you’re under Charnock’s spell and you crave more and more. I’m not quite sure if my thirst for information was satiated though. I have so many more questions. But I like a book that makes me think rather than telling me all the juicy secrets. Sleeping Embers really made me think.

Leafy rating: 3/5 Green Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip art

It’s worth a read (and possibly a re-read) and is full of feel-good moments, though it will leave you wanting more; at least a few more chapters’ worth please Anne!

Have you read Sleeping Embers? What was your November Kindle First selection?

J

 

2 thoughts on “‘Sleeping Embers of an Ordinary Mind’ | Kindle First | Review

  1. I love your leafy rating idea. It’s great. I haven’t heard of Sleeping Embers. I did struggle to read Cloud Atlas though. I actually gave up which is very rare for me. I don’t do Kindle. I’m a paperback and audio book girl.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know what you mean. I was a bookseller. Paper all the way for me. But I also travelled a lot for work and so the kindle was very convenient for me. I like to mix it up a bit 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

