Books · Kindle · Kindle First · Reviews

December Kindle First | Kindle First #2

Hello hello!

Before I get into checking out the December choices for Kindle First, (which I am very excited about), I wanted to take the time out to say thank you to everyone who has been stopping by my blog. Thank you for taking the time to read my rambles. I hope you’ll come back for more!

cat-697113__180

Today I am recovering from a bad cold but that did not stop me from reaching for the Kindle as today is the beginning of the December Kindle First offer. If you are an Amazon Prime member, you have access to the following months’ releases for free!

Here are the choices for this month:

Conspiracy Thriller

Contemporary Romance

 

Contemporary Fiction

Thriller

 

Literary Fiction

 

Modern Fiction

First Impressions

I know that it’s a little clichéd to judge a book by its cover (or to use the phrase) but the first thing that I look at when making my selection, is the cover image. I am often drawn to the cover design because it more often than not, creates a mood and gives quite an accurate picture as to what the book is about. I am immediately drawn to “Out of Sorts”, “The King of Taksim Square” and “Grave of Hummingbirds”.

Digging (a little!) Deeper

Out of Sorts sounds like a sweet story about an old grumpy man struggling to come to term with the death of his wife and the increasingly erratic behaviour that he starts to exhibit, much to the concern of his daughter. I haven’t read many stories that tackle issues faced by the elderly and themes such as loneliness, especially at this time of year, with the holiday season fast approaching. This could be an interesting, yet emotional read. This line from the Amazon read sums up the story:

“After an eighty-three-year reign of grouchiness, Ferdinand may finally learn that it’s never too late to start living.”

The synopsis of Grave of Hummingbirds blew my mind. Set in the Andes, the body of an angel is discovered. However, intertwined with superstition and murder, this story really intrigues me. I can’t even summarise the synopsis coherently. (I think we know where this is going)

Finally, The King of Taksim Square is described as a funny story about two siblings in the midst of The Arab Spring. The juxtaposition of the more serious events of The Arab Spring, with the more light-hearted elements of coming of age (and aspirations of celebrity) make this a potential winner for me!

So, after these brief considerations…

December Winner: Grave of Hummingbirds by Jennifer Skutelsky

Downloading in 3…2…1…

I’ll be sure to review this when I finish reading it. I cannot wait…

Side note:

I am about 15% through Reflection: The Stranger in the Mirror by Rachel R Smith and I’m liking what I see thus far!

 

*All images of book covers are courtesy of Amazon. So please don’t sue me!

 

4 thoughts on “December Kindle First | Kindle First #2

  1. Thanks for stopping by Khaya! I wish I could take credit for compiling the list, though it is a monthly list prepared by Amazon. As an Amazon Prime member, I get one book per month free! Hope you enjoy your choices when you get around to reading them! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, I’m sure to enjoy it! It’s in a little queue 🙂 I have to say that I have been a paper book person until about 2 years ago when I was given a kindle as a present. I was sceptical at first. Now I read just as much on the kindle as on paper. There’s no beating paper!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

