Books · Personal Development

2 Personal Development authors you need to know…

Say the words “Self Help” to a fellow bibliophile and you may either be faced with glazed-over eyes or an empty space where that person once stood.

help-15322_960_720
Photo Credit: Pixabay

 

I’m certainly no book snob. I will read any and everything (within reason!) and especially something which I think can be so positive and informative. When I was a bookseller, the self help section was the oft neglected section of the store. Customers seemed scared to approach and browse the books. I imagined that they thought they were going to be judged by other more ‘serious’ browsers. I was put in charge of ordering and merchandising for the section and so naturally I began to read more of the books so that I could make better-informed recommendations. I’ve grown to love some of these books (and authors) and I hope you will too.

Robert Greene

Robert Greene’s book the ‘48 Laws of Power‘ is the first of his books that I read. I was hooked. There is a complete version and a concise version. Personally, I have read all of his ‘concise’ versions to dip my toe into his philosophies and I’d suggest doing the same if you are interested enough. The blurb of the book describes it as “…the definitive guide to modern manipulation.” I think that potentially sounds quite scary to some but I think there are certain lessons to be learnt and people and ideas to be wary of.

One of his “Laws” (specifically Law 13) reads,

“When asking for help, appeal to people’s self interest, never to their mercy or gratitude.”

I particularly enjoy the historical references to illustrate his ideas and found these books an interesting read. I think they should not be read too seriously and may change the way you interact with others and value yourself and your time.

Other books by Robert Greene in my collection are:

Richard Templar

I’ve read a few of his books and I like his tone of voice. It is a level of authority that you feel you can listen to. He ‘sounds’ like he has had some life experience and you feel like the little brother or sister at the end of his friendly and useful advice.

Out of all of his “Rules” books, at this stage in my life, I felt that the The Rules of Wealth was a good read with helpful tips of saving, investing and making money. I also mentioned this book in one of my earlier posts.

A couple of others that I have read and own (and occasionally dip into and out of) are:

Personally, I think that the best way to start work on any issue is to admit that there is a problem. If there is someone who you can trust to talk things through with, that’s great. However, a lot of people don’t feel as though they can talk to someone and prefer the privacy of a well-written book from which they can mull over their problems and receive impartial and non-judgmental advice.

(Disclaimer: I am not suggesting that anyone with any issues I would class as serious, should solely take advice from a book!)

Have you read any good self -improvement books recently? Or read any bad ones? Do tell!

I’m thinking that for every good self-help book that I have read, I’ve read one bad one. This smells like a round-up post of the future to me!

 

4 thoughts on “2 Personal Development authors you need to know…

  1. Most of the self help books I’ve read have been investment related (maybe more educational than ‘self help’ but they did get me saving and investing). I might actually check out “The Concise 33 Strategies of War” it sounds pretty interesting. The problem with self help books (I think) is that a lot of the time they can come off as silly, especially the more popular ones, and this can devalue the genre burying actual good books.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for stopping by Craig. I highly recommend the Strategies of War. It’s more of a business related/ ‘strategies for life’ kind of read. Really worth your time and lots of references to Sun Tzu’s Art of War, from what I remember. I agree, there are a lot of silly books in the genre that put people off reading anything tarred with the self help brush!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think there is a real spectrum of books that could be classed as ‘self help’. I’m not into books that offer a solution to everything. Things with titles like – ‘Read this one book and be happy forever’ or ‘Just read this book and you can have everything you have ever wanted’. Obviously not real titles but you get what I mean. I do like some more realistic health and well being books based on facts or theories that you can translate into self help.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nice to see you round these parts Debra! I know what you mean. The books that make ridiculous claims to change your whole life are not on the top of my list. Clever wording to try to suck more readers in I suspect. Absolutely. the well-being books as you say are more favourable. (Although some of the really BAD self help books were actually quite entertaining to read!)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

