Books · Japanese Fiction · Reviews

‘A Wild Sheep Chase’ | Murakami | Review

Murakami is one of my favourite Japanese authors. Admittedly I haven’t yet read one of his more popular books, Kafka on the Shore. There’s some part of me that likes to read the ‘lesser known’ books so that I am not influenced by the reviews I have heard from everyone else who has read it.

A Wild Sheep Chase is actually one of my favourite Murakami books to date as I think it is one of his most absurdly enjoyable. According to Fantastic Fiction (one of the great tools of every bookseller!), this book is part of the Rat series, something I was unaware of. I read this as a stand-alone so I don’t think it would be difficult to follow if you have not read the other books.

Photo Credit: Amazon

 

The blurb reads,

“His life was like his recurring nightmare: a train to nowhere. But an ordinary life has a way of taking an extraordinary turn. Add a girl whose ears are so exquisite that, when uncovered, they improve sex a thousand-fold, a runaway friend, a right-wing politico, an ovine-obsessed professor and a manic-depressive in a sheep outfit, implicate them in a hunt for a sheep, that may or may not be running the world, and the upshot is another singular masterpiece from Japan’s finest novelist.” ~ Amazon

I love the surreal elements of the story and how there really is a sheep at the centre of this book. A fairly ordinary man becomes ‘quasi-detective’ as he searches for a sheep that has not been seen in years. After he uses a photograph featuring a sheep with a star on its back in an advertising campaign, he attracts the attention of a man who threatens an ultimatum; find the sheep or face unspoken consequences.

I can’t recommend this book enough. It’s funny and surreal but you can’t help but get caught up in the dream-like series of events that border on philosophical. I like a book that makes me ponder…

Leafy Rating: 5/5 Green Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip art

Have you read any Murakami before? What’s your favourite Murakami book?

4 thoughts on “‘A Wild Sheep Chase’ | Murakami | Review

  1. Murakami’s style is pretty appealing. I read Norwegian Wood, Colorless Tusukuru, The Strange Library(awful) and What I talk about when I talk about running(a somehow memoir on writing and running). While his style isn’t too complex, it is very engaging and I am drawn in pretty easily.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve not read Colorless Tusukuru or The Strange Library! Sounds interesting. I’ve seen the running memoir but haven’t been convinced enough to pick it up.

      Like

  2. I adore Murakami. I’m currently reading Dance, Dance, Dance which is also I think the Rat series not that they function as series in the normal sense of the word, really. But yeah, if you haven’t checked out the re-release of his first two novels (novellas really), do. They’re lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I read Dance, Dance, Dance some time ago now but didn’t know of the series link until recently. Are you enjoying it? I feel like I should have a marathon Murakami month where I re-read his books. Novellas? Which ones are they? Have you read any 1Q84?

      Like

Leave a Reply

