Tea · Teaviews

The Lady Returns | Teaview

This morning on my way to work, I took a quick detour to my local Tesco to stock up on office bits for the week. Crackers, fruit for my porridge and something sweet. I found myself in the tea aisle (naturally) and drawn to an old favourite that I haven’t drunk in years(!)

Lady Grey

For anyone who hasn’t yet tried Lady Grey, I would urge you to do so. It’s such a distinctive taste (as per the smoky taste of a Lapsang Souchong) with hints of bergamot and orange and I love drinking it with either a splash of milk or black.

Lady Grey
Photo Credit: Twinings

 

Lady Grey is one of the variations of the traditional Earl Grey (and is named after the wife of Charles Grey, the Earl after which the tea is supposedly named), with lemon peel and orange peel oil along with a smaller amount of bergamot oil, resulting in a more subtle flavour.

Lady Grey is a pleasant drink, feels quite light and refreshing, yet complex. You don’t feel like you are drinking a standard cup of tea; it feels (and smells) special.

Fans of Earl Grey or citrus flavoured teas will love this!

Have you tried Lady Grey before?

5 thoughts on “The Lady Returns | Teaview

  1. Lady Grey sounds a great name for a tea – just reminds me of a certain lady. 😉

    I’m not sure whether I’d like this or not. I grew up with my parents only ever drinking Early Grey and I never liked the smell and it put me off tea for life – or so I thought. I was in my 30’s when a friend got me into drinking tea, still not a fan of that smell though.

    My favourites (at the moment) are the Fairtrade English Breakfast and Twinings Lemon and Ginger. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Perhaps I’ll try some for Christmas 😉 I thought of you when I nipped into the supermarket early this morning for a couple of things as I walked down the tea isle.

        I will, I will Jam… 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

