Humanity

So you have a gamer boyfriend…

Hello there folks!

Are you well?

One more week of work until I can exhale and relax into the New Year!

So I can’t be the only one whose boyfriend or significant other is a video gaming fan right?

Gamer pic

Now please don’t think that I don’t enjoy playing games myself. I grew up with enough older brothers to enjoy an extended session of Super Mario Bros 3 or two. My favourite retro game. Thankfully, I inherited their old consoles. Gaming was a great release for me when I was younger. I loved solving puzzles, getting the coins/rings or other form of gaming currency and progressing to the next level of fun! (I posted about my love for gaming in one of my old blogs) I was into platform games in a huge way. All of the Mario Games and Rayman were top of my list.

But this post isn’t about me and my gaming habits. Now that I have met and share my home with Bear, the gaming has been taken to a whole new level. He enjoys online gaming. The type of games that require you to play in ‘teams’ against other ‘teams’ saving the world, eliminating the other team and increasing their stats.

I could lose my patience sometimes, especially when all I want to do is to curl up in front of the TV after a long day and all I can see is this:

2496225-destiny_2013_06-10-13_030
Photo Credit: MediaModd

I’ve decided the only way to cope is to do the following:

Appreciate the peace (when they’re not screaming obscenities at the screen)

Having him distracted means that I can sneak away and spend hours and hours reading, online shopping and pampering myself. In peace. That is unless there are ‘Trials of Osiris’ or something to that effect going on which means that I am grimacing to drown out the excessive shouting at the screen.

Embrace my inner child (alone)

Sometimes when he’s not around, I sneak in a game here and there. It’s nice to have an excuse to forget your worries for a few minutes while you play a game. If I can find a game that challenges me or makes me reminisce about my childhood, I love playing it as it puts me in a happy mood. There’s lots of sites that actually allow you to play all those retro games without the need for a console.

Engage in some two-player ‘fisticuffs’

If you can’t beat ’em you might as well join ’em. Grab the obsessed gamer in your life and challenged them to a duel, Mortal Kombat or Street Fighter style. I am always surprised at how much fun I end up having when I have used the latest combo (discovered via ‘controller-bashing’, a technique whereby you simultaneously press all the buttons on the controller and hope for the best) and beat the pro!

mortalkombat2main-420x0

Kitana in action! (Photo credit: SMH.com)

I’m just your average, traditional gamer girl…in denial. But don’t tell him that!

How do you cope with the gamer in your life?

 

9 thoughts on “So you have a gamer boyfriend…

Leave a Reply

