Teaviews

Tea for two | It’s a double #Teaview…

Last week I had the pleasure of trying two new interesting teas:

  1. Twinings – Bollywood Chai Latte

I was really excited when I walked into my nearest Waitrose and came across these tea bags. I quickly snapped up a bag and headed to the office to brew up a cup, for a taste. The aroma is spectacular.
According to the Twinings site,  the ingredients are listed as below.

INGREDIENTS

Almond and spice flavour black tea

Black Tea, Almond, Spice and Honey Flavourings (22%), Flavourings (6%).                            

Bollywood Chai Latte - 12 Pyramid Bags (Image 1)
Photo Credit: Twinings

I’ve had authentic Indian chai a few times and I can say that this tea did not disappoint in aroma. I was expecting the flavours to be stronger, though that may have been because I did not brew it correctly. I think that if I brewed this at home, I would have added some cinnamon sticks and cloves to the milk as I heated it so that once the bag was introduced to it, the flavours as well as the aromas would have intensified.

WP_20151221_12_01_06_Pro

I’m looking forward to sipping my way through this pouch though and will brew it in slightly different ways to see if this impacts on the flavour.

Leafy Rating: 4/5 Green Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip art

I also enjoyed reading about the history of chai on the Twinings site whilst sourcing the image for the post and would urge you to do the same.

 

2. Pukka – Womankind

This tea came to me almost entirely by accident. A colleague in my office, who knows I like tea, handed me a bag and told me that I should try it. I prepared for some sweet smelling tea but the aroma of this tea was quite strong and I couldn’t quite describe it. It was not unpleasant but I was initially quite put off by it.

Image of Womankind
Photo Credit:  Pukka

However, once I had convinced myself to sip the unusual-smelling brew, I was so surprised. The most delicate rose and cranberry flavour met my taste buds and I loved the sweetness of the cranberry.

WP_20151223_10_41_47_Pro

I would recommend this to anyone brave enough to look past the smell as they will be pleasantly surprised.

Leafy rating: 2/5 Green Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip art

I think I would have to drink a lot more than of these before I could decide whether I liked it or not!

Have you tried any chai? Which was your favourite?

6 thoughts on “Tea for two | It’s a double #Teaview…

  1. Well I have to confess we have Pukka Woman Kind in the cupboard but I’ve yet to try it! How does that work? 😉 My daughter enjoys it though.

    I’ve tried Chai latte out and about and enjoyed this brew. As for the Lady Early (from previous post) I did happen to find it the other day but couldn’t quite get past the smell from the box so didn’t give it a try.

    This post made me smile – not sure why.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Firstly, I’m glad this made you smile, whatever the reason! Lady and Earl Grey aren’t for everyone I suppose! If you’re affected by smells then perhaps you won’t like Womankind much but its very pleasant 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

