Humanity · Tea

Crochet and Coffee and Matcha (Oh my!)

On New Year’s Eve, I decided to meet with one of my oldest and dearest friends for a little coffee and crochet catch-up in London. It’s so nice to have a little outing, if only for a few hours, to see a friendly face and have a wander around London.

We ended up in Le Pain Quotidien for a little bite to eat and a lot of chatter, followed by a brief lesson in double crochet stitch, which is confusingly referred to as single crochet in US crochet terms, just to confuse things.

WP_20151231_14_28_36_Pro.jpg
Matcha latte and matching green yarn!

 

To accompany our crochet ‘lesson’ (using the term very loosely here folks), I had to try a Matcha Latte, which after I got over the spinach-like taste, was pleasantly surprised that I enjoyed the flavour.

Were there pistachio undertones to it?

It reminded me, oddly, of the pistachio-flavoured barfi that I used to enjoy as a child growing up in Southall, combined with the slightest bitterness of coffee. Yum!

WP_20151231_14_59_05_Pro
Coffees going down a treat!

We then had a wander around the bustling Covent Garden, where I was lucky enough to stumble across no less than 3 tea shops which I had to visit. This resulted in a totally unplanned but necessary tea haul, details of which I will include in a later post, as well as individual reviews and information.

In total London-fashion, the heavens opened and soaked us to the skin after a little impromptu shopping trip!

What a great bridge between the old year and the new!

How did you spend your New Year’s Eve?

9 thoughts on “Crochet and Coffee and Matcha (Oh my!)

  1. What a lovely day it sounds like you had! Are you crocheting anything in particular? Sounds like you got a nice haul of new teas as well. My New Year’s Eve was a mixture of going out and staying in — but mostly staying in! I actually just blogged about it, and about how I’m not into the whole go-out-drinking-until-2-AM New Year’s Eve thing.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. The East India Company was the most expensive of the three and so the tea I purchased from there was a special treat (though I’ve drunk about a quarter of it already! Oops)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

