Tea

More Tea Dahlings?| Tea-Drinking Etiquette

Hello you.

How lovely of you to visit!

Now, this wouldn’t be a tea-blog if I didn’t write about the various unwritten rules about the etiquette of tea drinking would it?

tumblr_m2ed234b101qze11co1_1280
Photo Credit: Style and Stilettos

 

(Was that a tautology? Writing about ‘unwritten’ rules? Anyway, I digress)

Tea is drunk around the world and every country has its own traditions, ceremonies and rules as to how tea is to be drunk and I found a few fun infographics on the subject.

Around the World

I’m fascinated by the various tea ceremonies around the world, particularly the Japanese Tea Ceremony and find it interesting how each country treats tea drinking so differently.

Global Tea Etiquette.jpg
Photo Credit: Pinterest @ IrishGirlie3

 

British Rules

Who knew that having the pinkie extended was considered improper behaviour? It’s  synonymous with British Tea-drinking caricatures! The British take their tea drinking very seriously, as evidenced by the number of sources relating to tea drinking etiquette.

How long have you got?

I am also very pleased to learn that dunking biscuits is considered primitive. I lack the ability to attempt to dunk without ending up with a foot of gunge at the bottom of my tea cup, that was once a biscuit or other. I simply cannot!

tea-etiquette-v2
Photo Credit: Penhaligon’s

 

But shh! Don’t tell anyone that I have sipped tea from a spoon. All in the name of tasting for sweetness of course.

Other Tea Facts*

*Not verified by me!

Tea Facts
Photo Credit: Pinterest

 

I will examine more about the Japanese Tea Ceremony (amongst others) in a separate post.

What tea drinking etiquette or custom do you abide by or have you experienced on your travels? I would love to hear about it!

19 thoughts on “More Tea Dahlings?| Tea-Drinking Etiquette

  1. This is a great post. I’m surprised by 96% teabag figure. Milk in after – definitely. I like my tea well brewed. I’ve visited tea plantations in Sri Lanka and participated in traditional mint tea ceremonies in Morocco. I love tea – it’s fascinating.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m surprised by it too. I love a strong cup of black tea; milk and one sugar 🙂 Sounds like you have done some tea travelling! Sounds amazing. What was the tea in Sri Lanka like?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Beautiful, lush, green mountains. I’m actually planning to use some of the photos in one on my ColourMyWorld posts so you will see. There tea plants everywhere as far as the eye could see. Quite overwhelming. We then went to the tea factory and had a tour. It’s a few years ago now.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you liked it! I don’t think I’ve drunk verbena tea before. What’s that like? My only dealings with verbena are in L’Occitane skincare 😛

      Like

    1. Absolutely! It’s a total British obsession to take milk in tea, though I am weaning myself off too many milky teas everyday. This blog is encouraging me to try new things! I’m glad you tried milky tea 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Growing up with Scottish and Irish grandparents in the house, tea was taken seriously! The rules I grew up with were milk goes in strong teas, such as English or Irish Breakfast teas, and other strong types of tea. No milk with teas such as Earl Grey, but lemon is fine. And teabags are rubbish and full of the dregs of the process. My grandmother would kill me if I used a teabag! Tea drinking and making is a calming and lovely thing to do in the middle of an other wise crazy day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi piratepatty (love that name by the way!) Oh yes, teabags are sometimes awful and full of tea-dust! I love escaping to the kitchen at work to brew up a cup when it gets hectic. I love that tea was taken so seriously with your grandparents!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

