Books · Kindle First

February Kindle First | Kindle First #4

It’s the first of February lovelies, which means it is Kindle First selection post time. Hurrah!

Feb Kindle First.png

It looks an interesting selection at first glance. Let’s have a proper look shall we?

Thriller

 International Thriller

 
 

Contemporary Fiction


 Romantic Suspense

 

War Fiction

Literary Fiction

First Impressions
I’m not sure that any of the covers completely jumps out at me this month, if I’m comparing these covers to last month’s. Though, in the 10 seconds since I wrote the last sentence, the simple cover of “All the Lasting Things” has caught my attention. I’m intrigued enough to add it to my definite contender pile. North of Here has also caught my eye. I think I’m a little reluctant to consider The Last Girl as it no doubt features a female protagonist, as did my choice last month, and also the fact that it is book one of a trilogy which will undoubtedly mean that if I fall head over heels in love with the story, I will have to read books two and three also to get the big picture.
I don’t want to rule out a good read based purely on the cover design, so here’s where I will do a little more digging and check out the synopses.

Digging (a little!) Deeper

All the Lasting Things tells the story of the dysfunctional, New-York based, Fisher family, each member experiencing their own demons, and the family secret that comes to light. It tackles the themes of ageing, Alzheimer’s, alcohol abuse and drug-taking amongst other family dilemmas. I’m not sure that the cover quite matched up to the synopsis for me and so I’m left a little confused.

North of Here sounds interesting enough as the blurb really didn’t give much away about the story. A young woman called Miranda is the main character and it sounds like she goes on a journey of self discovery and has to make some difficult decisions following a tough past. There’s a potential romance on the horizon. Straightforward love story with teenage angst thrown in for good measure? The sole reviewer on Amazon actually gave away more about the book than I was able to glean from the blurb. I think this sounds a lot deeper and layered than the blurb actually made it sound.

Another contender, that I wasn’t initially drawn to from the cover, is Winter Men. I don’t tend to go out of my way to read historical fiction although I do tend to like stories set in a ‘distinctive’ decade. (The stories tended not to centre around a historical event but merely suggested the year through the music, clothing choices etc). After having watched a few episodes of ‘Man in the High Castle’ and enjoyed it (as much as one can enjoy such an intense story) I felt that I could give this book a chance. I’m trying to avoid sticking too much to a type of book that I like to read and like to read outside of my comfort zone occasionally.

Hmm, this is a tough month…

February Winner: North of Here by Laurel Saville

Downloading in 3…2…1

What’s your choice this February? What would you have chosen?
*All cover photos are linked to and credited to the Amazon website*

 

10 thoughts on “February Kindle First | Kindle First #4

  1. As much as I don’t typically choose trilogies, I picked The Last Girl. It sounded the most interesting to my personal taste in books. I don’t know when I’ll get to it (I’m soo behind on my reading, my goodness), but I hope it’s good. And that if I do read 2 & 3 when they come out, that they’re good too. We’ll see!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Though I’m not a fan of fiction books, I would have read All the lasting things. Just intrigued by how things would unravel in that family full of secrets (like many families…). BTW, I got a Kindle but I’m yet to start using it more often. I’m too old fashioned, I love my proper books 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was a tough decision as it always is. What I read tends to be mood dependent so it’s hard to predict my mood for the month! I’m a traditionalist too; I love paper. Though for the fact that I love reading more than one book at a time, it’s good having a Kindle! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

