Books · Reviews

So you’ve been publicly shamed | Jon Ronson | Review

Have you read any Ronson before? This is my first official read. The other half, Bear, has read more of his books than I and so I am acutely aware of Mr Ronson’s books.

I’ve also posted one of his TED talks before too, which makes fascinating watching. If you haven’t already, I would recommend it.

I stumbled across this book in the WHSmith book of the week section and to my surprise, found that this was half price. Half price? To a book thirsty person, this is pure gold. To me, even more so. Anyway, it was almost a sign from the book gods. I had been on the lookout for this title since I had watched the TED talk. This book has accompanied me on my commutes for weeks now as I dipped into and out of it.

WP_20160201_18_15_09_Pro.jpg
One of my commutes in which I also found these delicious Kale crisps to pair with my book.

I’m a huge fan of Jon’s sense of humour. He reminds me a little of Louis Theroux in his investigative style and use of humour in tricky situations. This book read like a cautionary tale, though revealed some shocking differences in the way that we treat men and women in instances of public outrage.

One of the stories that you are introduced to is that of  Justine Sacco, the maker of a seemingly harmless Twitter joke that ended up being so widely circulated and shared, that it resulted in a life-changing assault of her character. As a blogger and internet user, it really resonated with me in that it made me consider the way in which I portray myself on the internet and the things that I say. I don’t mean that I am holding back my personality, but that certain things about my personal life and opinions, that I may hold on controversial topics, are best kept to myself.

There were also several references to high profile individuals who found themselves associated with sex scandals, either coming out of them relatively unscathed or finding themselves unable to cope with people’s opinions of them.

Our society is so obsessed with likes and follows and getting a reaction from people we don’t even know as some form of validation, that common sense seemed to go out of the window in a lot of the examples that Jon explored in his book.

Overall, this was a great, entertaining read that I did not want to finish; alas I had to! Reluctantly. Get the edition with the additional chapter in which Jon tells of his own personal experience with ‘public shaming’

Leafy Rating: 4/5 Green Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip art

Have you read this book before or any of Jon Ronson’s books? What was your favourite?


I’m now on Bloglovin!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

 

 

Leave a Reply

