Humanity

My Stony Valentine…

I know that Valentine’s Day is traditionally celebrated by lovers, although I know that in many parts of the world, friendships, mothers and other family members are also commemorated on this day.

my stony valentine.png

29 years and 6 months ago, my mother brought me into the world. Ever since that day (which of course I do not remember but am greatly thankful to her for!) she has been the absolute love of my life.

Man I love that woman!

I am not a mother and so do not understand the un-conditionality of love which mothers have for their children, despite all of their faults, stupid mistakes, stubbornness. Mine was no different.

Unfortunately for her, she had three of the most stubborn, crazy, curiously intelligent children, yet she dedicated her life to making sure we turned into the fine upstanding citizens that we are today (if I do say so myself! Aha!).

She reared us with an iron tongue and a stern look.

In fact, she had a look that would have turned Medusa to stone. When we were out of line, (and I’m sure my brothers would vouch for this) she needn’t ever have raised her voice.

We all knew and loved that look (sorry mum…)

Medusa by Carvaggio.jpg
Image Credit: Wikipedia

Thankfully, she did not have to endure the worst of my teenage angst and puberty. I wouldn’t have wished that on anyone, especially not my own mother.

(Anyway, I digress)

19 years and 9 months ago she left us to fend for ourselves. I say left, but in reality she was rudely stolen. It still hurts like it was yesterday but we love her no less. She made us who we are today, her memory comforts us in our times of self-doubt and anger.

I’m sure she’s in heaven, smiling at our continued faults, stupid mistakes, stubbornness…

Happy Valentine’s Day Mum. I love you!

Jam xx

How did you celebrate this Valentine’s Day?

12 thoughts on “My Stony Valentine…

  1. Aw, this was such a lovely post, Jam! Even if it’s been a while, I am so sorry for your loss. I lost my mom nearly 5 years ago, so I understand.

    I really love that you tied familial and motherly love into Valentines day. What a wonderful reminder that love is love is love!

    Charlotte x

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Charlotte, thank you. As am I sorry for your loss. The feeling never really goes away no matter how long its been, though you learn to live with it. Why shouldn’t we celebrate our love for all the special people on this day (as well as every day of course! :)) x

      Liked by 2 people

  2. That was lovely! All 3 of my sons were born on Valentine’s Day! Ironically I spent this one in the Heart Hospital with my 36 year old fiance’ who had heart surgery on Valentine’s Day! He is doing well now, but it was an odd place to be!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a lovely post Jam. I’m sorry for your loss. I lost my Dad at Christmas time 2012. It broke my heart. Loosing a parent is truly life changing.
    My partner and I don’t acknowledge valentine’s. It feels too commercial for us. However, I really like that you have chosen this time to acknowlege your eternal love for your Mum. Take care

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Debra, I’m so sorry for your loss also. I don’t go crazy over Valentine’s Day; it’s probably less of a British holiday. I too feel it’s a little commercial, though love flowers and chocolates year round too 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

