Books · Kindle First · Reviews

‘North of Here’|February Kindle First |Review

Hello lovelies!

I’ve been slightly less frequent with my posts recently as my shared computer was relocated and it’s not quite the same when your blogging environment changes, especially when it was one with a view! I think the solution is to revamp my laptop, but until then, I am commandeering the computer whilst my gaming other half is unwell and asleep on the sofa.

***This post contains no spoilers ***

I remember this month’s selection post and how difficult I found making my decision. The blurb of the book didn’t give much away and I really wasn’t sure whether I had made the right decision. Having just finished this story, I will say that it definitely deserves more of a chance than I originally gave it.

Picture Credit: Amazon

The stories of four individuals, Miranda, Darius, Dix and Sally are told from different perspectives and based on the interactions between them. Miranda however, is the main connection between them all. She is a young woman, troubled by tragic events from her past and is comforted by the strong, silent presence of Dix, a long-standing hand and friend of her family. Set in the beautiful Adirondack Mountains, Miranda seeks refuge in the beautiful forests and sleepy surroundings and settles into Dix’s cabin hideaway.

Things take a climatic turn when she is reunited with a man from her past, Darius and the promise of a different, more meaningful life in his radical ideas for social change.

It took me about 5 minutes to get into this but once I had started to read it, it probably took me about a week, using solely commuter and occasional lunch-time reading binges, to get through. I experienced so many different emotions reading this; anger, sadness, joy, hope, disappointment (in no particular order!). So much so that I took to Twitter to reach out to the author to comment!

North of Here - Twitter.PNG
From my Twitter feed…

Overall, I would recommend this to anyone. I loved the way that the emotions and the events were described using attention to details like the way a person looked at another or walked, or stood and how that conveyed how they were feeling in the moment (without having to tell the reader everything)

I also enjoyed the way in which the perspective from which the story was being told, changed. It was interesting to see things from the eyes of different characters, in their own words, rather than just from one person’s point of view. I felt like this made me empathise with the characters more and gave a more rounded view of things.

Selfishly, I wished it were longer and had more insight into the goings on at The Source, Darius’ retreat. But I liked the way in which major events were introduced; things weren’t dwelled on. In parts I felt as though it were George RR Martin’s ruthlessness overseeing plot-changing events, a la Game of Thrones.

Ok, so maybe I’ve gone a little far to illustrate my point but I actually shed a tear at one point in the story. So there…

Leafy Rating: 4.5/ 5 Green Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip art


Have you read this? What did you think? What was your Kindle First Choice for February?

I cannot wait for March picks!

Jam xx

6 thoughts on “‘North of Here’|February Kindle First |Review

    1. It is very mixed reviews indeed, though I didn’t really have any expectations and didn’t expect to like it as much. Conflicted feelings toward the characters for sure! I liked that not all of the characters were likeable 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

