Books

(Some of) the books of my childhood…

Hello there!

I’ve been thinking recently. Who would I have been if I hadn’t been so obsessed with books and reading as a child?

I was that child who would smuggle books off shelves and under my pillow so that I could read after I was put to bed and supposed to be asleep! I found a photograph of myself some time ago; I had fallen asleep with one of my favourite books under my pillow. I couldn’t have been more than 7 or 8. One of my brothers must have taken the photo as evidence!

The Dog with the Long Tail

This is the very book I was so obsessed by that I hid it under my pillow! If I find the photograph, I may post it!       Image Credit: The Enid Blyton Society

A Little Princess

Did anyone else like this story? I loved it as child. Even though I wasn’t an only child, reading this alone in my room, surrounded by my toys and books made me feel as though I were part of Sara’s world.

I was gifted a whole box set of Puffin Classics and so would read the books in the set over  and over again.

Image Credit: Amazon

 

The Secret Garden

Mary was one of those characters that I loved to hate. Her strong will and stubbornness didn’t put me off reading this until the book spine was peeling though. This is the very cover of the book that I owned. This was an absolute classic and great memories were conjured up on seeing the cover after so many years!

Image Credit: Gourdhouses blog

Little Women

I had this book in about 3 different editions. I kind you not; I loved it. I was a spelling bee at school and won first prize in my first competition and I bet you’ll never guess what the prize was?

Image Credit: Amazon

 

The illustrated version of Little Women (in black and white though. It wasn’t a huge competition!)

I loved the films and really loved and admired Jo.

I guess my childhood books weren’t necessarily at the top of every classic children’s books list but that’s what made them special to me I suppose!

Aesop’s Fables

I’m not sure what the obsession with “the fables” was but I loved a story with a lesson to be learn. I must have been a strange child. Maybe this book is responsible for my wanting to be a lawyer? The establishment of the moral high-ground?

Either way, I loved the stories!

Image credit: Amazon

 

The Baby Sitter’s Club series

Please don’t judge my taste in books but what was not to love about the prospect of growing older, getting a job and hanging out with friends. I lived vicariously through these stories. I was growing up.

Image credit: Amazon

 

The Famous Five

My first taste of mystery stories. I gobbled these up.

I couldn’t believe kids got up to this type of thing and I was made to tidy my room, peel potatoes and learn how to sit like a lady. (For which I am eternally grateful mum!:))

Image credit: Amazon

 

What were your favourite books to read as a child?

Jam signature

15 thoughts on “(Some of) the books of my childhood…

  1. I loved all the Enyd Blyton books, all the wishing chair and faraway tree ones. I loved The Little Princess too as well as The Velveteen Rabbit. So many books. I loved reading full stop!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Enid Blyton could do no wrong! I haven’t actually read the Velveteen Rabbit but have heard so much about it. I might have to give it a go and hope my adult eyes appreciate it 😊

      Like

  2. Yes I read Aesop’s Fables, Little Woman but not the Enid Blyton books for some reason I wasn’t allowed these. I loved reading Huckleberry Finn, The Secret Garden and The Tale of Miss Tiggy Winkle. Oh and the MooninPappa stories.
    I also vividly reading The Woman in Black as a young teenager when it was first published (1983/84) and being totally gripped by the story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Huckleberry Finn! I can’t remember reading it; it may have been read to me 🙂 I’ve not heard of Miss Tiggy Winkle before but it sounds sweet. Who wrote that one? I’ve yet to read The Woman in Black (or White!)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Miss Tiggy Winkle was one of Beatrix Potters children’s stories.
        I’ve read the sequel to The Woman In Black too though it’s by a different author. It’s not quite as chilling as the first but similar emotional status and same genre.

        Like

    1. Secret Garden is one of those classics that could never fail to make me smile. I have to confess that I have not read ‘Wind in the Willows’ yet! I feel like I may have seen a film version though…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi, Fab blog! I have just set up mine, but still in the very early stages! Just making efforts to link in with fellow bloggers to improve our followers and get the word out there for us both. I would appreciate you having a peek at my blog, as I have just published my second post. Feel free to like, comment, follow or just take a peek. Thank you 🙂

    Like

  4. i use to read all the Enid Blyton’s! I have also read “a little princess”, the babysitter’s club and Aesop fables, but i don’t know the 2 others. Later, i remember i liked the alice detective books (Caroline Quine), the dr march daughters and Les malheurs de Sophie (Comtesse de Ségur) !

    Like

Leave a Reply

