Tea · Teaviews

Lin Yun White Downy | Teaview

It’s another Teaview!

I bought this tea some time ago in Covent Garden, as part of my biggest tea haul to date. However, I had not drunk it as I was still drinking through my every day teas (as my tea tracker page will tell!)

On closer inspection you will see that the leaves are covered in a white down (or look pale green bordering on white) which no doubt gave it its name!

This is not the first white tea that I have tried but it is the most recent one I have sampled. It brews for 1-2 minutes in a similar temperature of water to green tea. I usually boil the water and let it cool for a couple of minutes before pouring into my cup for brewing.

WP_20160331_14_22_25_Pro
Lin Yun White Downy

The tea brewed to a pale caramel yellow colour and I did not sweeten to taste.

(I’ve been trying to watch the sugar intake lately!)

There was an unmistakeable nutty, yet spinach-like aroma to the tea which really surprised me as the white tea that I had drunk in the past was a lot milder. That said, this was such a refreshing light drink that tasted as good hot as it did when it got cold.

Leafy Rating: 3/5  Green Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip art

This seemed to taste better, the more cups of it that I drank and strangely enough, it reminded me of a Genmaicha in its nuttiness and aroma.

I think that I might need to expand my white tea knowledge based on this experience! I would highly recommend it if you are into milder teas.

Have you tried any white teas lately?


You can purchase this tea here from the Tea House, should you wish to!

Jam signature

 

7 thoughts on “Lin Yun White Downy | Teaview

Leave a Reply

