Fiction · Reviews

Yonder | Lee Ann Hansen | Review

Well hello there.

I had the opportunity to read this great book in exchange for an honest review, some time ago and it’s taken a while to get a review posted about it. Let me just start out by thanking Lee Ann for the opportunity to read another of her stories. I wasn’t disappointed.

Image credit: Amazon
Lee Ann seems to really love her romance stories with a supernatural edge. Let’s face it, a large number of us do. I will always have an affinity with vampire and other dark romance stories. It’s a great form of escapism. Yonder is just that.

Every year on her birthday, Isabel is haunted by the apparition of a strange child. Over the years, as the appearances become more consistent, strange goings-on also appear to be on the increase.

When Isabel is summoned back to her family home in the Southern States, following an anonymous phonecall, a series of events change everything she thinks she knows about her family. She is reunited with her childhood friends, Charles and Benjamin and is faced with a family bereavement.

As this review is just a short one (and as usual, spoiler free!) I will just say that this was a real feel-good read for me. As a Brit, being immersed in the Southern culture was a real treat and the blossoming relationships between the friends and their coming of age made this read an absolute pleasure.

I can’t deny the fact that I was a little on edge when references to this ghostly child and an eerie lake were made. The images that this conjured in my mind added to the enjoyment of the story. And as per my previous review, creepy children freak me out…Nuff said.

I did sometimes find myself getting annoyed my Isabel’s childish naivety and her indecisiveness over her ‘love interests’. However, nobody is perfect and so I forgave her character flaws, making her seem more human. Who believes characters in books should be perfect? That’d be even more annoying to read!

Leafy rating: 3/5 Green Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip art

Takes a while to get into but once you are charmed, you won’t be able to stop reading it. Great ending too!


Have you read any of Lee Ann’s work?

I’ve also posted a review of her first book, Ghost Light on my blog.

Till next post,

Jam signature

 

3 thoughts on “Yonder | Lee Ann Hansen | Review

  1. I have read all of her work so far! She used to live in Oklahoma and I lived in Mississippi. Now she lives in California and I live in Oklahoma and get to read about my home in the South. She is a lovely person!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

