Books · Fiction · Kindle First

May Kindle First | Kindle First #6

Hello!

So I haven’t been around much lately. I know I know.

I’ve been internalising a lot of things. Trying to make some positive changes to my surroundings so I’ve been otherwise distracted. Preoccupied. I’ve also been picking up a lot more books lately, as you will see from my book tracker page.

This month’s choice was an easy one for me but I will take you through the rest of the choices on offer, should you have left it as late as me to make your selection this month!

Thriller

Contemporary Fiction

Fantasy

Mystery

Modern Fiction

Literary Fiction

First Impressions

Immediately I was drawn to The Butterfly Garden. Following last month’s read, I felt like reading a grittier thriller and the simple cover design left me wondering about what ws contained within. The literary choice for the month, About the Night, also appealed to me. I sensed a story revolving around a  war-torn country and the lives of the people experiencing it. I loved the cover too! I liked the look of We’re all Damaged but I thought that perhaps I wanted a break from the modern fiction/ tragedy of the human condition type stories. When I’m feeling a little down, either a humourous, literary piece or a gory crime thriller or motivational non fiction can help me out of my funk.

Digging (a little!) deeper

As soon as I read the comparisons between the Silence of the Lambs and The Butterfly Garden, I knew that this was the book that I wanted to read this May. I found the following extract from the Amazon review.

“Near an isolated mansion lies a beautiful garden.

In this garden grow luscious flowers, shady trees…and a collection of precious “butterflies”—young women who have been kidnapped and intricately tattooed to resemble their namesakes. Overseeing it all is the Gardener, a brutal, twisted man obsessed with capturing and preserving his lovely specimens…” – Amazon

Shivers.

We’re all Damaged made all the right noises of a great humorous piece. It revolves around the life of Andy Carter and the mishaps that he experiences in his life. Heartache, tested friendships and family angst, this would have been the book for me this month, had I not already stumbled upon The Butterfly Garden! Maybe I’ll still read this at a later date.

My gut feeling from the cover design was correct about About the Night. There’s a somewhat modern ‘Romeo and Juliet’ feeling to the story as you will see from the Amazon summary below:

“On a hot summer day in 1947, on a grandstand overlooking Jerusalem, Elias and Lila fall deeply, irrevocably in love.

Tragically, they come from two different worlds. Elias is a Christian Arab living on the eastern side of the newly divided city, and Lila is a Jew living on the western side. A growing conflict between their cultures casts a heavy shadow over the region and their burgeoning relationship. Between them lie not only a wall of stone and barbed wire but also the bitter enmity of two nations at war…” – from Amazon

I’m not in the most romantic mood (from a bookish perspective) this month and so I don’t think that this is the read for me right now. It sounds like something that I might enjoy reading in the summer with a nice cup of tea and something sweet to eat, in the park…

So after some consideration, I bet you couldn’t work out what my pick for May was…

May Winner: The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchison

Downloading in 3…2…1

*All cover photos are linked to and credited to the Amazon website*


What’s your choice this month? Have you read any of the books listed above? I’d love to hear what you think!

Jam signature

One thought on “May Kindle First | Kindle First #6

Leave a Reply

