Fiction · Kindle First · Reviews

‘Deliver Her’| April Kindle First |Review

Hello again!

I know that this post has been a long time coming but better a little late than not at all right? Besides, I was a little unsure as to how I felt about this book for a while after I read it.

Last month, I had the pleasure of reading Deliver Her as part of my Kindle First selection. You can read how I came to my decision by checking out my selection post.

Image credit: Amazon

For a bit of background, here is the review from the Amazon page :

” On the night of Alex Carmody’s sixteenth birthday, she and her best friend, Cass, are victims of a terrible car accident. Alex survives; Cass doesn’t. Consumed by grief, Alex starts cutting school and partying, growing increasingly detached. The future she’d planned with her friend is now meaningless to her.

Meg Carmody is heartbroken for her daughter, even as she’s desperate to get Alex’s life back on track. The Birches, a boarding school in New Hampshire, promises to do just that, yet Alex refuses to go. But when Meg finds a bag of pills hidden in the house, she makes a fateful call to a transporter whose company specializes in shuttling troubled teens to places like The Birches, under strict supervision. Meg knows Alex will feel betrayed—as will her estranged husband, who knows nothing of Meg’s plans for their daughter.

When the transport goes wrong—and Alex goes missing—Meg must face the consequences of her decision and her deception. But the hunt for Alex reveals that Meg is not the only one keeping secrets.”

Firstly, let me tell you about what I particularly enjoyed about this book. The relationships between Meg and her young son and Meg and her best friend were lovely. I enjoyed the descriptions of the family dynamics and thought that they were true to nature and illustrated some of the issues faced by modern families.

It’s not uncommon to hear of a relationship breakdown (sadly) and see how this has such a profound effect on the rest of the family and friends in the circle. I felt that Donovan dealt with these themes very well.

On the other hand, I found myself getting quite frustrated with Alex’s behaviour and sullen antics. She actually ‘appeared’ to me, in my mind, as Kristen Stewart’s ‘Bella Swan’ character from the Twilight movie (which I’m sorry to say that I didn’t really enjoy – the books were better but I digress…). There were moments where her vulnerability made me feel for her and I empathised with her plight; losing a best friend and seeing your parents’ relationship breakdown. She was definitely a complex character who only really grew on me at the very end.

I also struggled a little with how involved Meg was in her daughter’s life, then I had to remind myself that it was a mother’s prerogative to invest themselves in their children’s well-being. Even if a little overbearing…

There are certainly a few shocking moments along the way and I can say that I truly enjoyed reading this. There were some really heartwarming messages coming out of the story and I think that it could appeal to anyone looking for a feel-good read.

Leafy Rating: 3/5  Green Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip artGreen Leaf clip art


Have you read this? Is this something that you would read?

Looking forward to getting stuck into reading my May Kindle First choice!

Jam signature

Leave a Reply

