Tea

Mint, Cucumber and Strawberry Iced Matcha | Recipe #1

*Edit – I know that I am only allowed one entry for the competition BUT I made two drinks. THIS IS MY OFFICIAL ENTRY!*

Hi lovelies!

I’m taking part in #summerofmatcha, a competition hosted by EatCleanTea, to encourage people to drink healthier, non-fizzy drinks. They have challenged bloggers to create delicious summer drinks using their selection of matcha.

I’ve never created any tea recipes before so I knew that this would have been a challenge! It was a tough choice but I decided to go with the Mint Flavoured Matcha as I was up for trying something new.

As soon as I thought of a recipe and flavours to complement the mint flavour, I thought of a drink that was a healthy, non-alcoholic verson of the ever famous summer drink, Pimms.

WP_20160608_20_25_37_Pro
Loving the colours!

 Ingredients

  • 1 teaspoon  Mint Matcha
  • 400ml water
  • 1/2 of a lemon
  • 1 teaspoon golden syrup (I didn’t have honey!)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 fresh mint leaves, bruised (to release the awesomeness!)
  • 1/2 cucumber, thinly sliced and quartered
  • A handful of strawberries, cut into quarters
  • Handful of ice cubes

Method

Here’s how I made my experimental concoction:

  • In a mixing jug, add matcha to water and mix well until it dissolves – it’s VERY green!
  • Squeeze half a lemon into mixture
  • Stir in vanilla extract and golden syrup
  • Add icecubes, chopped fruit and fresh mint to serving glass
  • Pour over liquid from your mixing jug
  • Stick a straw in and get STUCK IN!

This makes a glass of a very refreshing ode to Pimms without the booze (or the sugar)

WP_20160608_20_24_08_Pro
The finished drink!

I had so much fun creating something new (along with creating a huge mess) and I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out!

WP_20160608_20_23_17_Pro

It may not be the prettiest looking thing, but it sure did taste good!

WP_20160608_20_35_05_Pro
Going…going…
WP_20160608_20_36_48_Pro
…Gone! ‘M’ is for Matcha…

Wish me luck and check out my second attempt at creating a recipe for #summerofmatcha being posted shortly.

Jam signature

3 thoughts on “Mint, Cucumber and Strawberry Iced Matcha | Recipe #1

Leave a Reply

