Blogging

Keeping a Gratitude Journal

You may have noticed me posting about my new Etsy Shop and are probably wondering how this relates to my Tea, Book and Mindfulness Blog. One of the reasons that I decided to start my Etsy shop was because aside from my blog, I felt like I needed another creative outlet. I wanted a way in which to also put a smile on other people’s faces. I had started posting less and less on my blog since I had fairly unpleasant experiences in my then ‘day job’ and then whilst indulging in my favourite pastime of blogging, experienced some unpleasantness with the whole ‘book review’ thing.

(*coughpushyauthorscough*)

I used to post about my Amazon Kindle First choices and then review the book of the month. I took real pleasure in my blogging routines. Then I started to slip. ‘Real Life’ got in the way and I felt as though I needed a little break. I began doodling on my Kindle (ironically) and one of the first things I ‘designed’ was a gratitude journal.

One of my journals available in my Etsy shop!

I hadn’t even heard of the whole ‘Attitude of Gratitude’ movement when I designed it. I just started thinking of small things I was grateful for every day. I started appreciating the small things in my day-to-day  life that made me happy. I’d wanted to start an Etsy shop for a long time. In fact, I knew I wanted to start a business that could make a difference to others (not just a few extra £ here and there!)

So, tell us how to keep a gratitude journal you bumbling blathering…

Okay, so the first thing in my opinion, is that there are no rules

(which I know doesn’t help you very  much!)

There are some sites which suggest that you focus on writing down three things every day, how they made you feel in as much detail as you like. Other sites suggest that you adopt a bullet point style of writing. Some specially crafted journals offer daily or weekly prompts. Personally, I think you should adapt your journaling style to suit you. The three a day might work well for you but not for me. I really thought this Fast Company article, which detailed why a ‘gratitude journal’ in the popular sense, may not work for everyone, was really useful.

I have since designed 2 journals which are essentially blank notebooks. I keep one near my bedside and don’t feel compelled to write in it every day. I write bullet points, numbered lists, scribble and doodle in it. I have no set formula and find that it works better for me!

It really helps on a bad day to go back and read the things I had previously written in happier times 🙂

Till next entry,

Jam signature


Do you keep a journal? What is your journaling style?

Leave a Reply

